November

16 Nov

November is a month of many things. Firstly, it is NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, when participants aim to write an entire novel by the end of November. I, however, have decided not to participate in NaNoWriMo. I never have before and I’ve been looking forward to trying it out all year, but now that it’s November I’ve simply made the decision not to, for a number of reasons.

  • For a start, I just don’t have enough time to invest into writing a whole novel over the course of one month. I have work to do for university and writing a novel would just give me one more reason to not do it.
  • I’m nowhere near confident enough to begin working on a project that big. A novel is a pretty big task to undertake. It requires a lot of time and effort and only really pays off in the end if you’re confident enough about your subject. I realise that in participating I wouldn’t be trying to create a masterpiece.That would be an absurd expectation. But, not completing my goal or finishing it and realising that I hate it would be pretty crippling for someone just beginning and trying to gain faith in their own writing.
  • I’m also just too fucking lazy right now. An entire novel seems like a lot of work for something that will realistically probably never see the light of day.

I won’t be idle over November, however. I have other work planned. Writing that suits my life and skill a hell of a lot more than novel-writing. Short stories (pussy novels). I’ve written quite a few now and over the month, I will hopefully have written a great deal more.

But on a note other than writing, because that shit is boring to read about when you don’t do it, Skyrim came out today. Well, it did on the day I began writing this post. The 11th of November and every day since has been a day of zero productivity for me. When my class finished that day at 11 o’ clock, I made the trek into town and bought the game. It was at the point that I realised that I’d completely forgotten that I had another class that afternoon from 1 – 4pm.

“Three hours! Three fucking hours!”

It was a difficult choice to make but I eventually opted to go to class. For the three hours I was there, I scoured through the booklet that came with the game, milking as much information from it as I could. It was almost unbearable.

But I did get through it and now, five days later, I have clocked 25 hours into the game. I could have easily doubled this were it not for sharing the game with my girlfriend (the bitch), and possibly tripled my play time had the wench not existed at all, but that isn’t the case. The game is soul-destroying. It has completely taken over my life with the shear amount of things to do. I have fought numerous dragons, followed a talking dog to the top of a mountain,  joined the rebellion against the imperial forces occupying Skyrim, I joined the Thieves’ Guild, performed numerous contracts for the group of assassins known as the Dark Brotherhood and yet I’ve still barely scratched the surface of this game.

I have barely begun the main quest line in the game. I’m not uninterested, I really want to know where the story will take me, but there are just so many other things to do. I’m particularly enjoyed some of the quests for the thieves guild, even the less important quests, such as burglaries and fixing the numbers in various shops and inns around the world is extremely satisfying.

Exploration in the game is never boring. It’s incredibly hard to wander off in any random direction and not find something interesting. Whether it be a tomb, a fugitive on the run or a dragon swooping out of the sky, there is always something to see.

This shit. This shit right here.

The strange thing is, I wasn’t overly excited for the game until the week before its release. I mean, I did want to play it. I loved Morrowind and knew that I’d be playing it at some stage, but it happened so suddenly. I needed the game. I was jonesing for it. Sitting on this laptop, watching as my girlfriend takes her character through another quest for the College of wizards is making my blood itch. The need is setting in again.

Gavin

Leave a Reply

