So Mel Gibson, a priest and Adam Jensen walk into a bar…

29 Sep

I have a feeling from typing these first few words that this post is going to be an aimless one. I’ll probably end up meandering through a couple of different topics and not really sticking to any sort of central theme, but that’s the best I can do right now because I do have certain things that I would like to talk about.

First up is Lethal Weapon. For many years I’ve considered Lethal Weapon to be the best action film ever and I finally think I know why. I’ve always known (and it’s pretty fucking obvious) that the main point of attraction for this film is Martin Riggs. Mel Gibson’s character. It’s made evident pretty early in the film that this guy is just fucking crazy. It’s kind of his shtick.

Of course, this alone doesn’t make Lethal Weapon the best film ever, but it helps. I can imagine a lot of people reading this saying “Yeah, but what about Die Hard?” And yeah okay, I’m willing to admit that John McClane is a bad ass, but then you’re forgetting one thing. In Die Hard, John McClane takes on an entire building filled with terrorists, but he did it because he had to. Half of the shit that happens to Riggs in Lethal Weapon happens because he decides that he’s going to make things interesting.

Because taking the stairs is just so boring.

Another great action film, Taken. In Taken, Liam Neeson does exactly what he sets out to do. He looks for a guy and because he has a very appropriate set of skills, he finds him and then he kills him. An admirable feat, but once again, he only does this through necessity.

At the end of the film (Lethal Weapon, not Taken), for example, the bad guys have all been caught or killed. Everyone should be happy. Except, I can imagine, for the bad guys and apparently Riggs as well. Riggs decides, after everything that has happened, that he’s going to fight Mr. Joshua. He has already won. Okay, maybe his pride had been damaged a little along the way but after catching the guy and murdering his accomplices you’d think they’d be square.

“Riggs, god damn it! The man has been crying hysterically for three hours!”

I do know that there are a lot of action films out there with characters who do insane things purely because they feel like it at the time, but they don’t have the same charm that Lethal Weapon has. They lack the soul. In all probability, they lack Danny Glover. But enough praise. I was thinking about talking about other things that I like, but I’m of the opinion that praise is so rarely entertaining. Especially when you have bitter words and hatred at your disposal. So I’m going to put this hatred to good use and talk about something that has bothered me, and many others, for a long time.

Street Preachers.

Those guys that stand in inconvenient places and think its perfectly acceptable to shout abuse at people, just because they really believe it. I hate this sort of nonsense. I don’t want to have to listen to someone shouting about how shit hell is. And I certainly don’t want to hear about how I’m going to go there when I’m going about my, however unimportant, business. I can’t imagine that they’d take it well if I was to set up in their spot half an hour before them and tell them that they’re going to do nothing but rot in a box in the ground after they die because that’s just what happens.

This man would be an exception.

I just can’t understand why anyone would actually want to do this either, because lets face it, it can’t be great for self esteem. They aren’t spreading the word of god. They’re making people think “Look at those guys. They look like dicks.” It shouldn’t bother me. I should be able to turn a blind eye and tell myself that they aren’t hurting anyone and if I don’t like what they have to say I just don’t have to listen, but I’ll still know that they’re there.

So before I give myself cardiac arrest, I will swiftly move to another topic before ending this.

I’ve started playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution and as of yet, I am in no position to talk about this game (so this will be brief). The simple reason for this being that I suck at it. It seems to be taking me an incredible amount of time to accomplish even the simplest task, for example, breaking into a heavily guarded building, undetected, and securing whatever it is that I’m supposed to be securing but I’ve forgotten what it is because I’ve died so fucking many times.

Adam Jensen can get almost anything done, with someone else controlling him.

So, as of right now, I’m going to go home and I’m going to get better at this game. I will get past those guys. I will get whatever it is I’m looking for. I will pass the first level.

Gavin

Leave a Reply

