Arbitrary First Post

13 Sep

I decided to start a blog on a whim and am still undecided on what I’m going to write about. It will most likely turn out to be a collection of my thoughts on various things without any sort of coalescence.

Topics that may be covered:

  • Having no money and how shit that is
  • Video-games that have been out for months that I’m only playing now
  • Music
  • Films (I’m a projectionist at a small theatre)
  • Random musings
  • Things that annoy me

I guess I’ll start with a mixture of some of these topics. I’m a student in Belfast and over the summer, without the aid of the great student loan, times have been tough. Having no money is a terrible thing. You can’t buy clothes or games or any of life’s small pleasures and then when you finally do get yours hands on some money it becomes an even greater challenge to not spend it on bullshit. As if food really matters anyway.

That’s how shit not having money is and it’s also one of the things that annoy me.

Aside from being able to spend money, I’m glad summer is over for another reason. Another thing that annoys me. Wasps. The villains of summertime. Fuck those guys. What’s that you say? If I remain calm and don’t bother them, they won’t sting me? Lies. I have fallen for this old trick one too many times. That guy you see flailing his arms around and stamping wildly at the ground? That’s me. The best defence is a good offence and the best kind of offence is untameable and burning with the fires of savage hatred.

The enemyThey have creepy wee teeth things as well.

On another (video-game related) note, in anticipation for Skyrim I’ve started playing Fallout 3 again. This is mainly because I don’t have Oblivion and can’t be bothered digging Morrowind out of whatever box its hiding in. I’m having a lot of fun with it. More so than my first play through in fact, and my guess is that this is due to the different techniques I’m applying to the game this time around. In other words, I’m being an evil bastard.

I don’t usually do this in games. In fact I never have. As far as I can remember I have always adopted the role of white knight and saviour to whatever land that I happen to be in. Sometimes this is great. You can be the hero that everyone loves and it seems to almost be the right way to play an RPG. Letting go of my inhibitions and telling that frail old lady that  just asked me to collect her herbs or whatnot to go fuck herself has been infinitely more satisfying. So I will continue to do it.

At the risk of this first post turning into an  incoherent mess I’m going to stop typing and return sometime soon with an actual topic at hand.

Gavin

Leave a Reply

